Elephant in Castle

LEE Yuk Ki Florence

Animation  4 minutes 46 seconds

 

Elephant in the Castle is a 2D digital animation, using a hand-drawn frame-by-frame process to create subtle abstract narratives. The work is created within the context of two strange years, 2019 and 2020. The work expresses a constant change within the artist’s inner world, to express the emotional, aesthetic, and tactile responses that she has to Hong Kong, the city where she grew up. Stepping into a new decade, the world is coming to an unprecedented and critical moment in history. The work could be a reflection on contemporary political and social shifts conveyed by my sentimental responses to the personal stories and the events/incidents that took place in the city.

 

She was inspired by the research topic and artworks relating to Topophilia. Topophilia, terms from Greek topos “place” and -philia, “love of”, is a “strong sense of place, which often becomes mixed with the sense of cultural identity among certain people and a love of certain aspects of such a place.” People in a city might come from different places originally, but they all form their own paths of connectivity and responses to the places we inhabit, and even to the particular site that they pass through occasionally.

 
Florence img.jpg

LEE Yuk Ki Florence

LEE Yuk Ki Florence is an animation artist, graphic designer and co-founder of Hong Kong artist-led publishing studio No Reason Studio. She was born and raised in Hong Kong. She received her BA in Graphic Design (Moving image specialism) from Central Saint Martins in London, and currently doing her MFA at the School of Creative Media. Her creative practices include animation art, moving image, visual poetry and visual communication design. She loves to explore the extraordinariness in the ordinary objects of a city. Her work expresses the emotional, aesthetic and sentimental responses that she has to different places/cities where she used to live in.

城堡裡的大象

李鈺淇

動畫片  4分鐘 46秒

《城堡裡的大象》是一部 2D 數字動畫,使用手繪的逐幀過程來創造微妙的抽象敘事。這部作品表達了創作者在2019年-2020年間不斷變化的內心世界,描繪了她對香港這個她成長的城市的情感。進入新的十年,世界正進入前所未有的關鍵歷史時刻。這部作品也許反映了創作者對城市中發生的故事和事件的感傷,和當中所傳達的當代政治和社會變遷。 

 

她的靈感來自與 Topophilia 相關的研究主題和藝術作品。 Topophilia,來自希臘語topos“地方”和-philia,“愛”的術語,是一種“強烈的地方感,它經常與某些人的文化認同感和對這樣一個地方的某些方面的熱愛混合在一起。 ”一個城市裡的人,原本可能來自不同的地方,但對於我們居住的地方,甚至偶爾經過的一些地點,都會建立起一種特別的情感連結。

 
Florence img.jpg

李鈺淇

李鈺淇是一位動畫藝術家、平面設計師和 No Reason Studio 的聯合創辦人。她在香港出生和長大。她在倫敦中央聖馬丁學院獲得平面設計(移動圖像專業)學士學位,目前在創意媒體學院攻讀碩士學位。她的創作實踐包括動畫藝術、動態圖像、視覺詩歌和視覺傳達設計。她喜歡探索城市平凡事物中的不凡,她的作品表達了她對曾經居住的不同地方/城市的情感。